About Us

We are a congregation of the Presbyterian Church of Eastern Australia.

We are reformed and presbyterian.

Presbyterianism is a form of Protestant Christianity, primarily in the Reformed branch of Christendom, as well as a particular form of church government. Its primary tenets include the Five solas: Scripture alone, faith alone, Christ alone, grace alone, glory to God alone. It is practised by many (although not all) of those Protestant churches which historically subscribed to the teachings of John Calvin (known as Reformed churches). Presbyterianism traces its institutional roots back to the Scottish Reformation, especially as led by John Knox.

Primary Church Principles

We are Reformed in doctrine and practice. Our primary church principles include:

Spiritual independence
The church as a spiritual society is founded and upheld by the Lord Jesus Christ, "the only Head of the Church".
Establishment Principle
The civil powers have a duty to assist and fortify the godly proceedings of the Church according to the word of God.
Regulative Principle
An express warrant from the Scriptures is necessary for all parts of public worship.


The induction of Rev Dr MacIntosh MacKay to the third charge of the Presbyterian Church of Eastern Australia (PCEA) in Sydney, in May 1856, marked the commencement of the congregation which became known as St Georges. The congregation at first met in a rented hall in George Street and later in the School of Arts building in Pitt Street. In early 1860 it moved into its newly constructed church, St Georges, in Castlereagh Street. The second minister, Rev William McIntyre from Maitland, had been the leader in the movement during 1846, which led to the formation of the PCEA in the colony of NSW. He continued this witness to the distinctive principles of the Free Church of Scotland in the city during his ministry.

After 1864/65, when the union of the different Presbyterian groups in NSW took place, six ministers and about ten congregations remained with the PCEA and St Georges became the city congregation of the denomination. The congregation continued to grow and attract those who were sympathetic to Evangelical Preaching, Reformed Faith and Purity of Worship.

The changing demographic of the city brought changes in the makeup of the membership of all Christian churches in the city. Many worshippers now travelled to St Georges from the newly developing suburbs to the south-west and east. By 1900, as the city became a more commercial and industrial centre, most worshippers lived outside the boundaries of the city of Sydney.

The long ministry of the fourth minister, Rev William McDonald, brought stability to the congregation. The numbers attending St Georges were increased by those who had moved from the country areas to live in Sydney or had arrived with the new wave of migration from the United Kingdom, and appreciated the Biblical preaching of the Reformed Faith maintained by Rev McDonald and the church Session.

The distresses of the depression and war years, 1930–1945, were felt by the members, but by the grace of God, their faith in and loyalty to the Saviour meant the continuation of the congregation.

The Rev John McCallum was the ninth minister of the congregation. He was inducted to the charge in June 1985 and retired in January 2023.

St Georges has encouraged the commencement of two new charges in the outer suburbs: one at Mt Druitt and the other in the Southern suburbs during 1972–1989.

Currently, the congregation draws its worshippers not only from the city business district, but from Berowra in the north, Cronulla in the south and Penrith in the west. We are happy to welcome many overseas visitors when they come to the city. The increased number of Christian folk from different Asian countries who worship with us has widened our awareness of the wonderful working of our God in His grace of salvation to every nation. We give Him all Praise and Glory for His Preserving Grace.